Northeast-10 Conference
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The NE10 Celebrates 50 Years of Title IX

Title IX Timeline


Title IX is a federal civil rights law (1972) that states:

"No person in the United State shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from the participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance."

President Richard Nixon signed Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 into law on June 23. It is a landmark piece of legislation that addresses gender equity imbalances - not just in sports, but in campus life across the country. It has provided countless opportunities for women's careers in sport, whether as a player, coach or administrator. The U.S. Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights (OCR) is charged with enforcing Title IX. 


  • The NE10 currently sponsors 12 women's sports: basketball, cross country, field hockey, golf, lacrosse, soccer, softball, swimming & diving, tennis, indoor/outdoor track & field and volleyball. 
  • Springfield beat Bryant to win the 1981 NE10 Volleyball Championship, becoming the first women's program to ever win an NE10 title. 
  • Bentley won the 1982 NE10 Women's Basketball Championship - the inaugural women's basketball title game in Conference history. 
  • Merrimack softball became the first NE10 program to win an NCAA Championship in 1994. Overall, NE10 women's teams have combined for a remarkable 16 NCAA titles - including a league-high nine (9) in the sport of women's lacrosse - over the past 28 years. 
  • The NE10 has had 10 women's athletes earn 26 individual NCAA championships in the sports of swimming & diving and indoor/outdoor track & field in league history. One women's relay team in indoor track & field has also won an NCAA title.
  • There are currently 58 women and 14 women's teams in the NE10 Hall of Fame. Among this prestigious list is Barbara Stevens, Bentley's former women's basketball head coach, who has also been inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. 
  • On May 1, 2008, the NE10 hired Julie Ruppert as Commissioner. Ruppert became the first female commissioner in the history of NCAA Division II. She has gone on to become the longest-tenured commissioner in league history.




Ariana Koivisto

Claire Fon

Lauren Casey

Ceci Puentes

Adrianna Nojaim

Lateisha Willis

Christine Jarowicz

Makayla Blake

Kari Brekke

Shannon Cormier

Abby Murphy

Taylor Degeorge

NE10 Celebrates Title IX Anniversary

Northeast-10 Conference
792 South Main Street, Suite 104
Mansfield, Ma 02048

Privacy Policy